PainfuLee

John Green wrote in one of my favorite books, “That’s the thing about pain, it demands to be felt.”  I used to only be happy. I thought that was a false statement and with good enough friends and family and enough distractions, pain could be avoided all together. 

I was so fucking wrong. 

Eventually, it’ll all catch up to you. The more pain you ignore, the more that’s going to hit you all at once, and if you bottle it all up, once it hits you, you’re going to be crushed. Sometimes, you have no choice but to just hurt. Hurt for the choices you’ve made. Hurt for the consequences. Hurt for the decisions and actions of others. Hurt for the world we live in. Hurt for our past. Hurt for our future. The hurt is there and it needs to be felt. As John Green said, it demands it. 

So for now, I’ll just hurt. Then, someday, after it’s had its share of my time, the pain will ease up until it is no more. I’ll be happy again, some day. 

Leave a Reply

